Single Cylinder Beam Engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ronkh

ronkh
Reaction score
Gentlemen,
As a few of you may recall, I had a slight mishap in my garage a few months ago - namely, a little fire caused by throwing some old batteries away in a plastic sack. Never, ever do this yourselves!!
It's bloody painful :(
Anyway, it's now about time I started to show you my results since I got back up and running by making a start on the above.

This will not be rushed as it's my first build on a steam engine but with time and a few curses, I will get there.
I'm no stranger to machining having spent the last 40 plus years as a machinist. The past 14 in a Formula 1 team so I do have some experience!
Having said that, I will take advice/tips from you people on making these things as this is my first go at them.
The two rings were turned on a CNC lathe/mill where I used to work just before Christmas from where I took voluntary redundancy. You will see in a couple of pics later on in this topic, that I re-trimmed the wheel because after I placed the larger diameter brass ring in the oven to grow to fit the aluminium inner ring, it slipped slightly. mainly because my fingers decided that they had got too hot through the leather gloves I was wearing! Thankfully. after I gently tapped it as true as I could using my small knockometer, it was only a few thou out. The first pic is pre fitting. Second after assembly.
The diameters are; brass ring 225 x 15 width. Aluminium 190 o/d, i/d 170 x 11 width. hub 37 x 18 x 10 bore and the spokes are 6m/m dia. The spokes are a tight slide fit in the ali ring and I found that once together with no glue, there was no movement. The only glue is to hold the small brass rings on the inside dia of the ali. These I turned up to try to break the plainess of the wheel up.