Questions on progression for new modeler

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new to model engines and have a desire to ultimately build a v12 and a radial. Now I know that I won't jump right in to that level as my skills are not ready for that at this point. I intend to start with a wobbler.

Anyway this gets me to my question. What do members here think the next step builds should be in progressing from the wobbler to the ultimate goal builds?

If I posted this in the wrong place please let me know.

Thanks,
Bob

Since you want to build IC engines eventually, one of the simpler hit&miss engines (Kerzel?) might be a reasonable step up.

Piston and cylinder as well as crankshaft machining are the major skills in multicylinder engine building. The various Cox engine builds are a good way to build a multicylinder engine while limiting some of the hard work. See http://www.homemodelenginemachinist.com/f12/098-v-twin-using-2-cox-049-cylinder-assemblies-22013/ and http://www.homemodelenginemachinist.com/f16/engine-making-possibly-helpful-6984/ for ideas. James engine plans are at http://www.jamesengine.com/index.htm

Lohring Miller

learn to measure precisely and consistently with a micrometer that measure in ten thousands. or the equivalent metric micrometer.

probably the most important skill is learning to make smooth true bore in cylinders . by true i mean no taper bell ends or egg shape.
Tin