Custom Case Design Questions

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OLScrew

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I have been dreaming of a one-off bike build for a few years now and its recently been gnawing at me a bit harder. I had at one time, years ago, a JAWA "Top Tank" modified scooter. Immediately after purchase it melted down due to main seal leakage and so I ended up rebuilding it completely into a mildly modified version and enjoying the machine very much. It had a form factor/size and a riding style that was very fun and enjoyable to me.
What I am considering building is very different animal indeed, but whats important about the JAWA is the general layout and style of the machine. I essentially want to build a super scooter: Horizontal large 2-stroke engine, custom frame and fairings, modern motorcycle tires and suspension. Small, lightweight machine, big power, and classic styling.

The situation I find myself in is:
-I am not an engine builder.
-I am not well financed.
-I have access to, but do not own any machine tools.

-I have 3D design (solidworks) experience.
-I have solid fab skills in both metal and composites.
-I am resourceful.
-I have raced and rebuilt many 2 stroke machines.
-I have a great home level shop. (Primarily woodworking equipment)

Reason for posting:
I am seeking guidance in making the tough decisions about how to bring this horizontal engine into reality. To me this is the most complex part of the project. The number of questions I have feels staggering. I do not have any firm size or power demands at this time.

My initial thoughts are air-cooled for simplicity and similar look to the original impetus. Though I believe there would be advantages to using as many "off the shelf" parts as possible and liquid cooled 2 strokes are far more common in the larger sizes.