poppin crank shaft ?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BMyers

Reaction score
I finally got the standard done for my poppin' engine (see flinging it across the shop). I could use some advice on building the crank. I have never built a crank this small or built up from pieces. My first attempt was less than perfect. I think the parts separated some during the jig drilling (one stacked on top the other). Any tips on how to tackle this part would be appreciated.

The Poppin crank was a challenge for me as well.

The plans show fabricating the crank with the main shaft the whole length then cutting
away the center section. I'm a better machinist than that, I could make it from 5 pieces
rather then 4 and eliminate the need to cut that center section away.

WRONG!

I went back to the plans design and made as shown.
The fit was stuff to stuff, meaning it could be put together with a little help from a
light plastic hammer.

Then the joints to the throw beams were soft soldered tight, and the center section
was cut out.

That time it worked!

BTW I have something that resembles the standard for a Poppin in my "Recycle Box" ;)

Rick

I brought the crank throws to finished size and then drilled and reamed them individually in the mill. Actually I used a 5/32 end mill that I knew cut a little under size to poke holes through them and then ran a reamer through to finish to size. By taking the backlash out by approaching the hole location from the same direction for both holes, they will be more than accurate enough as far as distance between them. You don't really have to be concerned if the hole pattern if off a little bit from the ends, only that the two holes are the same distance apart on both parts.