Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Craig12763

Reaction score
Hello everyone! Just thought I'd introduce myself a little.I'm am just starting in this new hobby,mostly reading,I haven't purchased my machinery yet but know what I would like and need.

? Has anyone built models from Stuart Model CO.? Are they a good company to deal with? How are their casting qualities and plans,are their books worth purchasing also?

I'm glad to find a forum where even the newest of interested hobbyists can participate. I'm 48 and have built model all my life,just not out of metal. I'm a welder/fabricator and carpenter by trade.This machinist's hobby has fascinated me for years and I hope to start machining soon,even if it is really slow. Any suggestions on reading material of worth to the budding machinist would be appreciated. Thanks guy's,hope I can be welcome here being this new! :bow:

Welcome aboard, Craig.

Stuart makes some fine, albeit expensive, casting kits. Castings, however, are deceptive. To the novice they appear to simplify the process of building a model. The reality is that working with castings requires more expertise than building a model from bar stock. Start out with some of the simpler bar stock models discussed here and build up your skills before attempting a set of castings. You'll learn more and suffer less frustration.

Greetings and welcome to the forum.

Has anyone built models from Stuart Model CO.? Are they a good company to deal with? How are their casting qualities and plans,are their books worth purchasing also?

Stuart kits are top notch I have a kit here ready to build. There is a guy here that did a fantastic job on the lathe model. Stuart has been around a long time. Do not think you will be disappointed with quality.