How hit & miss engine operate?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

azroyhelmy

Reaction score
Hi guys!
I'm very new to this engine things. And i very interested in a few of the engine and plan to build them ( of course for the beginner engine hahaha ).
I already download Brian Rupnow and Chuck Fellows plans. But i wonder how this engines works. Could anyone explain or direct me to any site than can make me understand before i start to build them?

Thanks,
azroy ;D

Hi Azroy,
First of all welcome to the forum. In the model engine building world I don't think you'll find a better place to come for information.
As far as how a hit and miss engine operates it's quite simple. You take a 4 cycle engine and put a mechanism on it that when operated by a centrifugal weight will lock the exhaust pushrod from operating. This will prevent the engine from taking an intake charge and compressing it so therefore will prevent it from running. Once the engine speed has slowed down to the point that the centrifugal weight returns to it's rest postion the lock mechanism releases the pushrod and allow the engine to function normally. These types of mechanisms were used to control the speed of the full sized hit and miss engines before throttling governors came into use.
gbritnell

Thanks for posting that video! Long Green Line :big:
I watch that show occasionally when i catch it on the tube it's always informative and interesting!

This video is loaded with incorrect statements on how a hit and miss engine works. I will not even attempt to correct them as there are too many.

The Miss cycle: