Gear cutting on mini mill

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nikhil Bhale

Reaction score
I have a Seig X2.7 mini mill. I have to cut a Mod 1 gear with 63 teeth in aluminium. I have commercial Mod 1 gear cutter set.
I checked the internet for gear dimensions and indexing calculation.
Mod 1 gear.
63 teeth
OD 65mm
Root dia 60.5mm
Pitch dia 63mm.
My rotary table has 1:72 ratio. I will use 28 hole indexing plate. Increment will be 1 turn and 4 holes.

I have some questions about the operation as this is my first time.
1. What should be the RPM?
2. Should I do full depth of cut (2.25 mm) or do in steps?
3. Should I do conventional or climb milling?
4. Feed will be manual and I will try to be as slow as possible.

Any other concern or trick that I can use.

Regards
Nikhil

1. Speed will depend on the diameter of the cutter and material being cut
2. Full depth in one pass
3. Conventional
4. Better to work out a decent feed rate based on 1 and number of teeth on the cutter so you don't let it rub which will blunt the cutter

Oh just saw you said aluminium.

Assuming cutter is 50mm dia 5-600rpm feed of around 75mm/min.

@Jasonb
Thanks for the help.
I was able to cut the gear.
I read in your post somewhere that mod 1 gear depth is 2.4mm. I kept the same.

IMG_20240329_114650.jpg

This was my first time cutting a gear.
Now I am a little less scared to use a rotary table and indexing plates.
I now have to cut more gears, 42T, 30T, 16T and 10T.

One question
The minimum number of teeth mentioned on gear cutter are 12. So does it mean that if I have to cut a 10 tooth gear it is not possible? Or is there some workaround method that I can use.

Regards
Nikhil