Farm Boy #862

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JimD

Reaction score
I finally finished Farm Boy #862. This was jumping into the deep end for me, this was my very first project with a new mill and lathe purchased as a retirement hobby. My background is in electronics, so I'm pretty happy as a clueless mechanical novice.

Jim

Jolly good job and I really like the blue paint job as the others I have seen seem to be Brunswick Green for want of a better colour name. Something I have yet to attempt being an internal combustion engine. I have stuck to steam (Compressed Air in my case) engines. One being an air powered hit and miss that ran much better before I disassembled and painted it. :( It was Brian Rupnow's plans.
John B

Hi Peter. A friend made them for me as a favour. Unfortunately he doesn't make them to order.
Cheers
Andrew

The nameplate is a nice touch, I plan to add one too. I thought about going to a trophy shop to see about a custom engraving or I also see places on the internet that offer that service too. The paint is KlassKote epoxy paint.

Jim

I am currently building the farmboy and need someone to cut the two gears for me. I don’t want to buy the two cutters needed just for two gears. Any help would be greatly appreciated and I would certainly pay for the services.

Have you considered making your own gears? Pretty simple if you have a rotary table and mill. You can make your own involute cutters and arbor with metal you probably already have.

I am currently building the farmboy and need someone to cut the two gears for me. I don’t want to buy the two cutters needed just for two gears. Any help would be greatly appreciated and I would certainly pay for the services.