A small X2 mod

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bill S

Reaction score
Well, actually a major revamp. I have this nice 6 x 12 x-y table that I have been using on my drill press for many years, and a little while ago I saw the same table on a CNC conversion using an X2 column. Compared to the X2’s table this one is beefier, smoother, has less backlash and the gibs are much easier to adjust. That along with a thread a few months ago regarding beefing up the X2 column got me planning along these lines. I would make a new base with a large fixed column, mount the table to the base, and mount the whole X2 dovetail column to the new column.

This is what I have so far, the base is 4x4 ½” steel angle, the table mount is ½” steel plate, and the column is 4x6 ¼” wall rectangular steel tubing. I would prefer to weld them as opposed to bolting, warping is a concern, but I want it as stiff as possible. The X2 column will be bolted to the 4x6 by means of 4 - ½” grade 8 bolts, 2 at the bottom 2 at the top. Tramming the x direction will be accomplished by having the upper boltholes oversize to allow the dovetail column to pivot slightly. Tabs with fine thread bolts will allow me to micro adjust and hold the position – see pic 2. Y tramming will be by fine thread bolts either pushing the top out or pushing the bottom out. If that doesn’t work out I’ll use shims.