What Makes a Hobby Machinist?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rake60

Reaction score
Reading through the boards here, I see a lot of posts from members who don't think
they have the skills or experience that is needed.
I was a job shop machinist for 18 years before building my first running model engine.

My "exception" record at work was one of the thinner folders in the employee permanent record files.
I had an inspector tell me that they never checked my work. I didn't need to hear THAT!
I don't know if that was skill or just plain ego.

The tightest tolerance I had at work was a +.0000/-.0002" size.
2 tenths of a thousandth is pretty tight.
I didn't want to keep it within tolerance, I wanted to split that tolerance right down the middle.

I treated every size that way. If it was a scale dimension, +/- .015", I was cutting for dead center.
If I missed it that was OK, but every fit was a personal challenge.

I have lightened up a whole lot since those days but the skills that came from it have given me the
confidence to rip into just about anything knowing the outcome will be positive.

Skill and confidence come from practice.
Chuck up a piece of 1" round stock and cut it to .950" +/- .0000
If you miss try again.
Cut it to .900" +/- .0000
Keep cutting until it gets too thin to be stable.
It doesn't really matter if you hit or miss the size, it's just practice.
Before you know it that size will become much easier to hit.

Every material and machine is different.
On some material / machine combinations if there is .010" left you may learn that a .0055"
depth of cut will hit the size every time. It may be the other way at .0045" depth of cut.

Chuck up a lump of scrap stock and just have fun with it.
Practice makes perfect and there is always the opportunity to expand your vocabulary in the
process.