Small Honda engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

napoleonb

Reaction score
Being much more of a lurker than a contributor to this wonderful site i feel now the time is right to start working on a contribution for the near future.

Like most of you i've got more hobby's and interests then spare time with machine acces. I'm a teacher at a Secondary Vocational Eduction in the Netherlands, teaching mechanical engineering. Unfortunately at work the machineshop is used (read abused) quite alot, so i can't leave a setup standing for days and have to check every machine before i can machine something. :wall:

At home i don't have enough room, nor the required funds, to begin my own (hobby) machineshop. This in a nutshell is my dillema.

Now the introduction is over here are my questions:
One of my hobby's involve litle 50cc mopeds from Honda especially the SS50Z, see the attached pic, hhich i almost restored to its original state.

I would like to design a 1/2 scale version of it, almost every part of the real version has been measured and 3d CAD drawn by me. As far as my knowledge goes and i deemed necessary for the future. Of course many parts are still lying around for future reference.
For the simpler parts i can just scale them down by half but the surface area and volumes of course could give problems that way.

Because i want it to be a runner i need some advice.
1 Should i try to remain true to the scale in regards to bore and stroke (39,0 => 20mm and 41,3 => 20mm) wich gives it just over 6cc volume.
Or should i aim at a more traditional volume for example 5cc?

2 Should i then copy the cam lobes and valves with the same profile?