Sleeve questions

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

55fairlane

Reaction score
As a professional machinist I have never built a "model engine ", I have built several alcohol injection Hemis, but that's a different story....
So as I am (not so) patiently waiting for my new milling machine to arrive ( apparently $6k just adds your name to the list of people already waiting)
I cracked open a minty copy of "elmers engines" I have kept hidden from the "general population " here at the phunni pharm I call home..

I have settled on a scaling up (2x in size) Elmers Scotty, as I am redrawing the parts, and noting what parts must play nice with other parts,, I got yo the cylinder & piston & started to (over?) Think things.

Should I sleeve the cylinder with a 12L14 sleeve & aluminum piston?

If I sleeve this , how do I finish the sleeve? Bore brush/cylinder hone?

Do I need to "hone" the cylinder to a .001/.0015 under fit? Fitted to the cylinder bore or matched.

My plan is to bore the aluminum cylinder thru, to .877 , then using 648 Loc-tite, glue the sleeve/liner in place. You need approximately. 002 clearance for the Loc-tite (as per there engineering staff) the sleeve will .875 OD and a reamed .750 ID.

And if I get really bored I may take the parts to work and "static" balance the rotating parts

Thanks in advance

Aaron

As a professional machinist I have never built a "model engine ", I have built several alcohol injection Hemis, but that's a different story....
So as I am (not so) patiently waiting for my new milling machine to arrive ( apparently $6k just adds your name to the list of people already waiting)
I cracked open a minty copy of "elmers engines" I have kept hidden from the "general population " here at the phunni pharm I call home..