Need your comments about Optimum D 240x500 Lathe

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
That is remarkably similar in appearance and specifications to the new
10 X 22 Model G0602 being offered by Grizzly here in the USA.

I have no experience with it, but perhaps someone else here has.

Rick

They definitely look similar in the photos. The Optimum claims to be made in Germany, and is quite a bit more expensive, esp. as things like the steady and follow rests are additional. Perhaps the Grizzly is a Chinese clone. I did notice a few differences such as speeds and the tailstock taper.

The Grizzly machines are usually Asia imports.
That one doesn't state it's country of origin.

International trade laws are kind of strange.

It used to to be based on the original source.

Then it became "Final Assembly In...."

And now it has dissolved to, we replaced that green knob with a red one,
so there for it was made here.

That does not make a lesser machine!
It does make it worth the market value of a machine manufactured
in the country that had their hands on it last.
A poorly manufactured machine will NOT pass their quality control inspection!

That is where the difference can be found.

The Grizz 10x22 is fairly new here too, but seems to be getting some good press.

Hi Together

Optimum machines are also being produced in asia. Actually its the same as rake60 describes it for grizzly machines.

In Germany, there are lots of people using this optimum lathe and they mostly are happy with it.
But i also have read opposite oppinions about from users with higher claims to the quality.

If you can manage to get a older lathe, perhaps something like a:
Schaublin, Neotor, Scintilla, Boley, Lorch, Mikron, Colchester, Myford, South Bend, Hardinge