Newbie Looking to buy a Lathe

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

truckeic

Reaction score
I am a newbie to lathes and looking to buy one for my home gunsmithing shop. I cannot afford these 3-4K lathes so I am looking at 2. Would love your opinion on these.

https://www.vevor.com/metal-lathe-c...for-processing-precision-parts-p_010748145741
https://littlemachineshop.com/products/product_view.php?ProductID=7350&category=1271799306
So my questions start with I know the vevor lathe has some bad reviews but it is a 30" bed. Do I need one that long? the spindle hole on the LMS is only .8 wide and the vevor is 1.5".
Can a gun barrel be passed through the bore from back to front to say work on the front of the barrel and turned around and passed through the back to do the other side?
Can I upgrade thee to ballscrews and would that change how the gearing would be for threading?

Thanks

I am a newbie to lathes and looking to buy one for my home gunsmithing shop. I cannot afford these 3-4K lathes so I am looking at 2. Would love your opinion on these.

https://www.vevor.com/metal-lathe-c...for-processing-precision-parts-p_010748145741
https://littlemachineshop.com/products/product_view.php?ProductID=7350&category=1271799306
So my questions start with I know the vevor lathe has some bad reviews but it is a 30" bed. Do I need one that long? the spindle hole on the LMS is only .8 wide and the vevor is 1.5".
Can a gun barrel be passed through the bore from back to front to say work on the front of the barrel and turned around and passed through the back to do the other side?
Can I upgrade thee to ballscrews and would that change how the gearing would be for threading?

Thanks
I look both lathes back in Oct 2023 just before I purchased my new lathe
They both good lathes I think Vevco has more bang for buck