How to fixture for cutting small bronze cranks

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

Trying to "slice" off 0.100" thk disks from a .500" diam bronze rod and then drill two off centered holes in each - this is for my first Stirling build (my first engine build of any kind). I am a real novice, so everying is quite challenging.

On my first pass, I clamped the .500 diam rod vertically on my milling machine vise and and "sliced" off some .100 thk discs with a slitting saw mounted in a chuck. The results were less than stellar - got nicks and dings at the end of the cut. Looking for a better way.

I also need to drill two off center .093" holes in each one, and they all need to come out the same. I was afraid to drill them before "slicing" them, because I didn't think I would be able to deeply drill such a small hole accurately enough.

Any help is much appreciated.

Paul

Paul, first of all, how many of these "disks" are required?

Well, to be honest, what Stirling are you trying to build, and for what parts are the "disks" - sounds like the crank webs.

From what you're describing, you have a job more suited to a lathe and a four-jaw chuck than a milling machine at the moment, but I could be wrong.
Some more information would be helpful in order to help you :)

Regards, Arnold

Edit: I Didn't read your post title - it is for cranks.