First time designing sterling engine Looking for advice

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bacon9023e

Reaction score
I am a Percision machining student designing a sterling engine for my senior project I have a rough design right out with A inch and a half bore And three and stroke plan to make the whole thing out of aluminum any advice would be helpful ie. Using O rings to seal it, Cylinder wall clearance, or Any general advice I have access to Haus CNC Mills And Lathes

Hi,

Not the worlds best expert on Stirlings. But I would not be real enthused about using aluminum for the cylinder or piston. The heat expansion would be awful for this application I think. Usually, you want material that doesn't soak up heat for those parts.

The one Stirling I have built, I used a 304 stainless steel, (material on hand), for the cylinder and graphite for the piston and valve. The stainless cylinder does not absorb heat fast and the graphite piston is lightweight and self-lubricating. And it has a super low heat absorption rate, preventing part growth and binding in the bore.

No rings of any sort be used. Sterlings make so little power that any drag in the powertrain will stop them dead. All you want is a very close running fit on the piston in the bore and that alone.

I would look at some Stirling models and pay close attention to the materials used in the construction of them.

Well I didn't really think about expansion I could harden some mild steel

As for sealing it I’m concerned that my pistons and cylinders won’t necessarily be perfect I’ll be boring and turning them on a CNC lathe so I was hoping to just give it a little more wiggle room using minimal contact hardened O-rings I’m not entirely sure what a good piston to cylinder clearance would be

bacon9023e !