Beginnings of my oiler design

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doc1955

Gone
Reaction score
I started playing with a design for a oiler not sure how the original old Lunkenheimer Oiler works. I have never studied one but this will be my take on it. I had been meaning to replace the oil cup on my hit miss engines with something like this. I have most of it modeled up. It will be a little project I'll start after I finish my current build.
What do you think will it work?
I have a little work to yet do to model add a jam nut an oil fill passage or cap and a keeper to keep adjuster from moving once set.

oilerfull.jpg

that looks like it should work fine but i was wondering if you were going to put a drip sight glass on the bottom?

chuck

Thanks Chuck

Yes I was going to add it I was just messing around with some thoughts and what I have so far is just my first rendition. I'm sure I'll change a few things before I get it built.

Thanks Pat J
I still need to figure out a fill port and cap. I was thinking maybe use a ball type fitting for filling.
You know I've seen these type oilers but never took the time to actually study them. Next time I get close to one you can bet I'll take a close look to see if I'm even close with my concept. I like playing with cad modeling so I like looking at some thing and then trying to model up my vision of it. To me it is a challenge that I enjoy.

Played with it a little before heading out to the shop. Added a friction keeper and the drip sight under oiler.
oiler3.jpg

When I get it the way I think it should be I'll do a set of drawings for it.

looks pretty good to me . does need a filler hole and dust cover.
I have a pair on my SB9 do you need a photo? mine are smaller.
Tin

Can't possibly work - there is no pin holding the cam block to the needle!