New Engine Design thought process

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Corsair_Pilor

Reaction score
Hi all,
I have never built an engine before. I've played with my 2 stroke motor in my 1/5th scale dessert buggy, and my 2 stroke weed eaters.
I work for a company that sells machinery, and know many of the features and benefits of what we sell, but knowing how to use them, and how to do what I know they can do, I'm a little lost.
So I thought I'd dig up an old idea and desire i had from years ago, and attempt to make my own motor to go into a scale car.
Or have it so it would fit into an aircraft, but I may look at making a raidal for that, as I really want to build a Corsair, and want it to scale and spec.
I guess what i'm trying to work out, is what materials can I use?
Thinking for ease of using 2 stroke gasoline, but later on, I wouldn't mind working out how to create a lubricating engine, but I don't want to make it too complex yet.
What things should I consider prior to starting to build?

I had been looking at the opposing piston engine that INN engine has come up with.
I wouldn't mind doing a 3D printed version of it for fun, and then see if I can go somewhere with that.
My 2nd problem being, i'm new to cad drawings, and so trying to draw some of these parts is not easy.
But assuming I can get drawings done, and see if simulations say it will run, then I guess it would be working out my materials.

Designing engines is somewhat of a round-robin affair for me.

I drew a few model engines in 2D CAD, but I really started learning when I got into 3D modeling, and 3D simulation.
I learned to run a simulation after each new part was added, to verify that the simulation would still work, and check things like part collision.