Webster Engine re-design & (hopefully) build:

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lucky13dave

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I recently joined this forum, have posted in the welcome section:
http://www.homemodelenginemachinist.com/showthread.php?t=24710

A brief intro here, I love making stuff, have been a machinist (mostly CNC) for about 10 years now. I studied Engineering Management and have a degree. My employer is training 3 of us to help out with engineering tasks. We are working on a Webster Engine as an exercise.

Each of us built the engine in Solidworks, more or less to the original prints. We made dimensioned and toleranced prints, and now they're approaching it like they do a customer. How can we make this functionally the same, but make it easier (and cheaper) to manufacture?

It's been quite a fun way to learn, and they worked in quite a bit of the business aspects that I haven't known before.

That being said, Joe Webster's engine is a great jumping off point. It's a design that is simple and has been proven to work.

That sounds like a great project. I'm in the process of (slowly) building a Webster myself. In the process of doing so, I collected quite a few links from others who have done the build, and made some improvements (or at least changes) which may be of interest to you (click on the link below and scroll to the bottom to see a list of related links).

Good luck with your project - I hope you will keep us updated on your progress.

https://sites.google.com/site/lagadoacademy/machining---lathes-mills-etc/build---webster-engine

Great website, thanks for sharing! I especially enjoyed the "Advice from a Newbie" section.