Round or Flat

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mutley

Reaction score
Is it better to go for a round post milling machine or a square one, also, is it handy to have a tilting head.

I dare say some of it is down to personnel preference, but being as i am new to this i thought i would ask.

Not going for a massive machine, as space is limited (see pic)

ThMain_002999.jpg
ThMain_003216.jpg

I will be making mainly small fittings for model boats, cars etc, some fishing reel repairs and anything else i can dream up.

All advice greatfully received.

The problem with round is when you need to raise or lower the headstock while machining a part, you have to re-centre.

IMO, a tilting head is just an annoyance. It's just another degree of freedom that can become unknowingly misaligned. Most folks I know who have that capability use it only rarely.

For the smallish work we're doing it's always possible to provide whatever required angling of the part via angle plates or tilt tables.

I have a round column mill and, through careful planning, a bit of ingenuity with collets and self-made low-profile work holders, almost never have to readjust the head height during an operation. Still, if someone gave me a square column mill, I wouldn't kick it out of the Garaj Mahal.

However, as with all new machine purchases, you really need to consider what work you intend to do and buy the capabilities required to do that work.

No matter what you buy you will discover limitations and annoyances in it. Experience, both personal and the collective type found here, will allow you to work around those imperfections.

Go for the square-column, so you can move the head up and down while working and not have to worry about alignment.