Plunket Jr. Build

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swilliams

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at an IC engine, very close to my first engine, although I'm not new to machining. The model is to Jerry Howell's design, and made from bar stock.

http://www.model-engine-plans.com/engineplans/combustion/plunket.htm?33,12

According to the plans the original engines were made about 100 years ago to power domestic machines such as washing and sewing machines. They weren't a very successful product and now are very rare and collectible.

Hopefully someone around here can point me in the right direction if and when I get over my head

Regards
Steve

I decided to start with the flywheel. The engine has the crank pin straight in the flywheel for the big end to connect to and some balance weights. So the flywheel has a couple of non round features requiring quite a bit of milling on the rotary table.

I started with a bit of steel plate. First I milled a reference surface which will be used later

IMG_0566.jpg

The plate was too big so I cut a smaller square out using a roughing endmill. I didn't have anything better to do it with and it worked ok

IMG_0567.jpg

Apparently an endmill is pretty good at cutting paper!

IMG_0568.jpg

I then started turning the flywheel. This photo was taken with the lathe running, the cut was not just rubbing like it looks. I was using a carbide tool with the slowest direct drive speed.

IMG_0569.jpg

After the wheel looked something like this

IMG_0577.jpg

I got ready to do the other side. I needed to take about an 1/8" off the back side, so I milled the corners off to avoid the massive interrupted cut on my little lathe

IMG_0571.jpg

Then I stuck it on the face plate and made it the same as the other side.

IMG_0572.jpg

From here it's mostly milling.