Not so easy EZ engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xr6t

Reaction score
Hi everyone.

Started getting my act together for the build of an EZ Engine.

Gathering the materials in itself has proved to be very challenging.

Most sizes have been unattainable here in Hobart, the model shops do not sell anything and the metal merchants have limited stock and are basically not interested in such small quantities.

Cutting 2"x1" alloy to 1" x 1""with an angle grinder has been somwhat interesting.

The oversize rod is OK, this will give me the chance to try my hand at reducing. Remember I am a complete novice

Tools are also proving to be a challenge, conssidering I just bought the lathe (9x20) three week ago and had no idea about "tooling" I find that I now have to purchase things like "tool holders" "parting tools" "reamers" "hss tool blanks" "measuring stuff' etc.

The project so far:-

Photos have not come out, will try again.

MaterialEZ.JPG

The Lathe 1.JPG

xr6t said:
Hi everyone.

Started getting my act together for the build of an EZ Engine.

Gathering the materials in itself has proved to be very challenging.

Most sizes have been unattainable here in Hobart, the model shops do not sell anything and the metal merchants have limited stock and are basically not interested in such small quantities.

Cutting 2"x1" alloy to 1" x 1""with an angle grinder has been somwhat interesting.

Tools are also proving to be a challenge, conssidering I just bought the lathe (9x20) three week ago and had no idea about "tooling" I find that I now have to purchase things like "tool holders" "parting tools" "reamers" "hss tool blanks" "measuring stuff' etc.

If you can't find things locally then buying from an on-line company is a good option. They sell in small quantities. You pay a little extra but don't have to buy larger pieces.