Selecting and Using Tungsten Carbide Partoff Tooling (Long)

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

quinette7

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
My Thoughts on Selecting and Using Tungsten Carbide Partoff Tooling

I hope the following doesn’t sound like an ad for Iscar, but it is their tooling that I know the best. I wrote it several years ago to answer a specific question, and thought it would be of benefit to this group. I want to preface my remarks by saying that I worked as a technical sales rep for Iscar from 1995 to 2001, but I no longer have ties with the company or any other. Following Iscar, I worked in the same capacities for Valenite and Mitsubishi, and I retired in 2006, so some of my knowledge about Iscar products is 10 years old now. Most of my job was spent doing technical troubleshooting on both CNC and manual machines. Partoff and grooving accounted for about 40% of my business. My personal machining has always been strictly a hobby.