Non-staining way oil?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

10K Pete

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have been using a brownish way lube, since about 1983, on my 10K. I don't
remember the brand as I was given a couple of gallons back then by a guy
who bought it bulk. The problem is that it stains everything brown and the machine looks a bit 'rusty' on the bare metal. I rebuilt the lathe about 6 years ago, including a nice new paint job (high grade industrial machine enamel),
and now there's brown stains on the paint too.

Does anyone know of a quality way oil that doesn't stain everything?

I use ISO VG 68 Zinc Free Hydraulic Oil, I also use this oil in the Headstock and Gear box, my lathe is a Myford. this oil does not stain and keeps the slidways nice and clean, I'm in the UK but there will be equivalent oils in the USA.

Mike.

Yes, quite a lot of cutting oils are pretty messy and stain but the best policy is to go to your supplier to the trade rather than individuals.,
Like Mike, I have a Myford and there was this very expensive makers 'recommended ' oil and I confess to a certain meanness and don't suffer fools gladly and don't take prisoners and that sort of thing. So I went in my overalls to the local wholesale oil firm, leant on the counter and said 'Have you got the equivalent of NUTO32?' for the same price as a pint, I got a whole gallon of the equivalent which was simply ISO32 High Bollick oil for farm and whatever use. So pushing my luck further, I said 'Lard oil?'
'5 litres, mate- 14 quid?- Next week, OK' and that is what I use for the lathe bed and cutting and tapping and attracting wasps and keeping my pinkie fingers pretty and when I can be bothered , barbecues.