New Member Rural BC Canada

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AlanS

Reaction score
New to this forum. I've been building steam and IC engine models for over 40 years.
My IC engine models are all ETW designs, the Road Roller and the 1831 shunting locomotive - both of these have alternate transmissions, the roller has the full size 4 speed twin clutch transmission and the 1831 locomotive has a version of L Mackey's harmonic transmission.

I'm currently in the final stages of building a Seal Major engine, modified internally and externally. I've been running the engine but with a bought distributor and carb. I'm making my own distributor and a vertical axis housing. The cooling system will be next as I've been cutting my running sessions very short which makes tuning difficult. Next will be replacing the bought carb with one as per ETW and Braid's design, already 90% complete.
The engine, once complete and running to my satisfaction, will be installed in a 1 1/2 inch to the foot model of a Caterpillar Sixty crawler tractor as a test bed and as a precursor to building a model of the Cat Sixty Holt style engine. The Cat Sixty model is complete already (sans engine) and has the prototype 3 speed transmission and steering clutches and brakes.

Hi
Welcome
Glad to have you !

My IC engine models are all ETW designs, the Road Roller and the 1831 shunting locomotive - both of these have alternate transmissions, the roller has the full size 4 speed twin clutch transmission and the 1831 locomotive has a version of L Mackey's harmonic transmission.