New Member and learer

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

azironwoiod

Reaction score
I am just starting to learn lathes. I am an accountant by training, but have always wanted to learn to run a lathe. Now I know I would like to learn a little about milling also. I have just started to turn some soft stuff like aluminum, a little mild metal. Very slowly. I don't feel good with that metal turning in my face and getting so close to that chuck spinning so fast. Time to adjust, I guess.

I have started a stirling air engine and have a question. I have turned 2 pieces of aluminum to just over an 1/8 inch. 4.5" square. Now I don't know how to get it round? I have not found or seen anything on the boards I've been reading. I know I can't chuck it and turn it. I only have a chuck. Is the only option left to me to buy a metal blade and try to cut it on a small wood bandsaw to a round shape and then file it on down to size. Anyone any suggestions. Thanks for any advice,

I like the site. Good reading.
Jim

I assume the finished part is 1/8" thick and about 4 1/2" diameter circle. If that is right, you can mount the part on a short piece of bar that you can hold in the chuck. Is there a hole in the center you could put a screw into the short piece? Maybe put another short piece of bar on the front side, and hold it in place with a center in the tailstock.Use the tailstock to clamp the two together. Cut it close with the bandsaw if you want, that will make it easier. Also you might do both at the same time if they are supposed to be the same. Use super glue to hold the two together, and also on the short pieces of bar. Heat the parts to separate them later. Don't do anything you aren't confident is safe, but I think you can hold the pieces and turn them round in the lathe.

I'm sure there will be some other ideas.

Doug

Jim :