New Guy Checking In

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rleete

Reaction score
Hello, everyone. I'd stumbled on this site a few weeks ago, and after spending several evenings reading, decided to join up.

I'm a mechanical designer by trade (Solidworks user, but old enough to remember the old board drafting days), a computer geek and a tinker by nature. I've been enthralled by mechanical devices of all sorts for as long as I can remember. In the past few years, model steam engines have caught my fancy, and I purchased a Homier 7x12 to start making my own. I recently aquired a HF micro mill and have started making chips.

My latest project is a small vertical wobbler, made from whatever materials I can scrounge up. I haven't taken any pictures yet, but I will now that I have a like-minded audience. I have drawn up plans for at least 3 more as my skills increase.

Some of you may have come across a website several years ago where a guy was attempting to make a 40% scale German Tiger I tank. That was me, but alas, the site is long gone. No, I never finished it - it sits in the back of the garage awaiting completion in the future.

I work for a company that does super precision machining of Fresnel lenses (lots of business in the solar industry), and have talked to all the guys in the shop to glean as much as I can. Every time I run into a problem, I have a ready source of experience and knowledge to rely on. I hope to learn more here as I continue to read, as well as get more ideas for future projects.

G'day rleete

welcome!!

this be the place for folks like us alright

now comes the hard part

show us what you got/done/doin' :big: :big: :big:

sad the hear about the Tiger, maybe we can bug you emnough for you to bring it to life and finish it??

cheers for now

jack