My Latest Project... A Stirling Fan

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jack

Reaction score
As a Christmas present I received the plans for a Jerry Howell Stirling Fan so I thought I would show you all what I've been up to the last couple of weeks. I have about 25% of the parts made ( the easy ones ) this set of plans presents a few challenges for me since I'm still a beginner, I work slow so I don't think I'm ready to give up my day job, just yet.
The new DRO on my lathe sure helps me make things more accurately but if I made these parts for a living I'd starve to death. I'll try to keep you posted of how the process is going, I would like to have this finished by the time it gets hot here in the summer time. It's snowing here today in the midwest so it's a good day to spend in the shop.

IMG_0720.jpg

IMG_0724.jpg

IMG_0722.jpg

IMG_0725.jpg

IMG_0723.jpg

IMG_0695.jpg

Very nice parts!

How did you make the slots for the blades?

I used a .032 thick slitting saw which is the same thickness as the brass pieces which were crazy glued together and cut and sanded to shape then separated with a little heat and finished up with a little edge sanding. Then I put them in the slots and drilled for the .062 roll pins, which I didn't drive all the way down because I thought I might want to remove them.
Note to self... I need to take more photographs

Here is todays work, I centered the base in the rotary table then tilted the head 11 degrees and then proceeded to drill four .250 holes 90 degrees apart for the support rods, which I made yesterday as you can see from the pics everything turned out OK for a change.

More to follow if anyone is interested... AH I think I'll show the pictures anyway.
IMG_0726.jpg

IMG_0727.jpg

IMG_0728.jpg

IMG_0729.jpg

IMG_0730.jpg

Yep, - We ARE interested - keep the pictures coming.