my attempt to make the steam engine from oldboatguys plans

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ariz

Reaction score
hello to all in this great forum!
well, I don't know if this is the right section for this post. probably I can't document every step of the work, because I get some photos only by chance, when I remember to do it...
and I have nothing to teach to anybody! I'm new to this hobby, this is my second engine, the first being the steam engine from the brian rupnow plans.
but perhaps sharing this work could be interesting anyway, so here there are the pieces I have done till now

engine_obg4.jpg

oldboatguys (obg from now) suggested to have these parts realised with lasercut, but I made them with the mill

engine_obg_2.jpg

obg_engine6.jpg

this is the crankshaft, obg said 'process using laser burned throw plates'... I didn't understand what this means, I made it with lathe and mill from a piece of titanium
I can manage it well with the lathe, but with the mill (X2) is another story!

engine_obg_3.jpg

also the eccentric strap was made of titanium, and was a real pain
another pic of the eccentric
obg_engine7.jpg

no problems on the cilynder

engine_obg6.jpg

engine_obg7.jpg

nor on the steam chest

obg_engine8.jpg

I'm here for now, they remain many parts to do
but the obg's plans are missing of some parts (in fact there aren't the page n 7 and others), so I have to design the parts that are missing

that's all. if I did something wrong in this post (too many pics?), please let me know
if I did something wrong with the engine, let me know too!!! ;D

thank you

Welcome ariz ! Great start on the engine !! Don't worry about too many pictures. We all LOVE seeing pictures of engines and especially as they are being built :)

Do you have a link to the plans we can check out ?

Mike