mini lathe tooling and fixtures

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Twinsquirrel

Reaction score
Hi again, so many questions ;)

As a total newbie I'm looking at making my own tools and fixtures for my mini lathe so I can learn the basics and have something useful to boot and would love to hear your thoughts on what I should attempt to make and what I really need to spend money on.

With a limited selection of tools (I don't have a mill.......yet) I would like to expand my little workshop's capabilities without spending too much and learning a whole lot along the way.

Many thanks in advance

David

Of course, with no idea of what sort of work you intend to do, it's very difficult to answer your question in a meaningful fashion. My suggestion is to start making something - doesn't matter much what - and the things you'll need will soon make themselves apparent. As they do, ask here about the buy/make decision and we'll try to help you along.

That said, in no particular order, these are homemade tools that I use frequently on the lathe...

Tailstock die holder

Tool height setting gage

Chuck spider(s)

DI holder to fit toolpost (for centering work in 4jaw)

Pump center (also for centering in 4jaw)

DI holder to measure carriage motion

Carriage stop

Chuck wrench speeder

Tool rest for hand turning with gravers

Tailstock centering buttons

For other ideas on making useful tools, review some of my earlier posts in the "Tools" subforum. To do that, click on my screen name (mklotz) to bring up my profile then click on "Show the last posts of this person" under "Additional information". Alternatively, you can use the "Search" function and search for posts by me in the Tools subforum.