Mill Questions

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tmuir

Reaction score
I'm going to have to do some more night work tonight and since I've already done heaps of overtime this month I've decided to treat myself to a mini-mill.
I am thinking about getting the HM-10

http://www.machineryhouse.com.au/Products?stockCode=M150

To be honest I've never used a mill before and don't know a great deal about them and I'm looking for some advice on what else to get to start off with.

I know I need to replace the chuck with something better and I believe there are a few differnt ways to go here and I'm looking for advice.

I also will need to make / buy clamps to hold the work peace down and obviously some cutters.
But is there any tips people could give me before I go off and spend my hard earnt cash or good web sites people could direct me to?

Thanks

Tony

Tony
That one is a typical Sieg X2 mini mill. I've used one up until just recently and it is pretty good for what it is. You can do quite a bit with it, but it's not a real heavy cutter. It did everything I asked as long as I asked within it's performance envelope. I recently upgraded to it's big brother the SX3 and I still find myself using the little fellow for second operations.

Like any Sieg machine, you'll need to clean things up a bit and tweak it some.

Recommended mods would be a belt drive kit, an extended Z gear rack and DRO's when you can swing it. A power feed is also something no one has yet regretted adding.

I found that I use a screwless vise more than the clamps, but the clamps are almost a requirement. They sell cheaply so it's probably not worth making a set. The step blocks would be a little tricky for a novice to keep uniform anyway.