Layout idea for metal & woodworking shop of serious amateur

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dodgeram2500

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

This is my first post :D. I have been watching this forum for a long time with a great pleasure. I am a mechanical engineer with a master degree and I also graduated from fitter & machinist job high school. Meanwhile I have never worked as machinist. I am very interested in machining and woodworking.
I have an intention of building a new house in medium term with a shop which is suitable for serious amateur. Main components of my hobby shop will be as follows and there will be seperation between shops;

Metal Shop [purpose; engine, prototypes, telescope parts etc.] : 16"X40" gunsmith's metal lathe, 9"X49" vertical mill w/ power feed , Drill press, assembly area

Welding shop [Purpose; like in metal shop] (or corner) :argon welding and arc welding tools

Woodworking shop [Purpose; fine woodworking and garden furnitures] : 10" sliding table saw, 12 " planer/jointer, storage areas, dust collector, and assembly area etc.

I have always searched an idea in order to fullfil my shop dream in the forum but I could not find suitable one. I would be grateful if you suggest me any idea (layout of shop, size, height, house basement or barn style apart from house)? on my project.

Best Regards,

Hi,
if you are purpose building a workshop & intend doing both wood & metal work I suggest you seperate the two entirely. Wood dust will get everywhere, dust extractors not withstanding. Thats the only way I am happy doing both types of work, but I'm at it every day. For occasional use you may be able to combine them, but it sounds like you are planning some serious work.
cheers,
Leonard

Leonard,