Hello from Texas

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

photopro

Reaction score
Thank you for letting me join this forum. I kind of stumbled on it accidentally the other day, but am glad that I did. The thing that caught my interest is that there is a group devoted to people who build engines from castings. All but one of the various engines I have built were from castings and I am still learning how best to work with them.

More about me. I dabble in lots of hobbies, but a few are as central to the things I play at more than machine work. I built my first steam engine from plans I found in a Mechanix Illustrated or maybe a Popular Mechanics back about 1970 with a borrowed 9" SouthBend lathe. Actually, a friend had asked me to store it for him while he did some work on his house and told me I could use it if I wanted to. I didn't know how to use it but sure wanted to try to learn. Amazingly that little engine worked, although a bit roughly. In those days, my wife was making 1' scale dollhouses, and she made a scale diorama of a corner in my then shop and we put the little engine it it. My next engine was a PM Research #1 mill engine which I still have. I recently completed a 1" scale model of an old treadle operated wood lathe which will take the place of the little engine as soon as we can figure out how to open up the diorama again. During the years, my metal shop has grown considerably, along with my knowlege base, most of which comes from old machinists books and manuals since all of my equipment is manually operated.