How long do you work on your projects

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

V 45

Reaction score
I was wandering how often you work on your projects ? For me I have a full time job and get to my dungen shop (wife calls it that) a couple nights during the week and maybe a few hours on weekends. To much to do around house plus have a little fun as well !! So my projects don't get a full time attention that they deserve. I'm very excited about having my machines even tho I'm very new to this...still strive to learn all I can...and so far on this site it hasn't let me down !!
Thanx again... V45

When I'm heavy into a project I can put in 8-10 hours on a weekend day (leaving some for honeydo's and yard work) and a couple of hours after work. Most of the time I'm not that much into things, I have had months on end where all I do is go into the shop and rearrange piles that are project shaped. Then I'll go full-bore on something again for a couple of months.

I sure couldn't do this if I was travelling as I used to - 80% travel meant that I was home Saturday night and sometimes Sunday night as well.

I'm lucky. When the shop was built there's a 450 sq. ft. apartment at the back. Originally for guests but now that Mom needs assistance she lives there. I'm semi-retired and need to be around to help her, installed a flashing light system in the shop when I'm needed in the apartment. So fortunately I can spend a good part of every day in the shop. Roger