New from Atlanta Ga

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John Russell

Reaction score
Hello all,
I'm actually a very bad machinist, I can clearly see how to do it, but my execution is severely sub-par. I have to work on my equipment and my own patience and am here to try to improve both. I'm a car person, electronics person, and a machinery person, and have a mechanical/electrical type of job. Some of my influences are YouTube producer/presenter Allen Millyard, he has created some amazing engines for motorcycles without the aid of a full machine shop, and Quinn from Blondihacks as well as This Old Tony and Stefan Gotteswinter from YT. I have about 100 other presenters that I follow somewhat regularly. A search for information on 'Google Search' brought me to this forum and I hope to be able to learn lots of new information as well as possible some old information presented in different ways. Thanks in advance for your patience and bandwidth.

Welcome

Allen Millyard has some nice videos.
They remind me of the Kawasaki triple 2-stroke 500 that my brother-in-law let me ride.
That thing was a screamer.

Quinn is one of the best videography folks I have seen that does model engine work.

MrCrispin has some interesting material.

Everyone had to start machining, and I don't think anyone machined perfectly when they started.
It takes some practice, and observing how the very good machinists do it.

There is a ton of info here; enough to keep you busy for many years.

Pat J

Edit:
How bout that rush hour traffic you have ?

What kind of machines do you have, and projects?
SIEG X2 Mill, RF-31 Mill, 7x14 Chinese lathe, and 9x48-A South Bend lathe unrestored.
Lincoln 250A AC and 2nd 250/125A AC-DC Tombstones, 90A Grainger MIG, 140A Lincoln MIG, 300A Lincoln TIG, 350A Miller Syncrowave.

Thanks for the interest and intro.