Horizontal Boring

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blockmanjohn

Reaction score
Hi, I have a Uni-Vertical mill with a Bridgeport type H head on it. I need to bore a 2" hole in an engine casting but it is too long to mount vertically in my mill. It is also too large and irregular to safely mount in my lathe.

The head on my mill rotates 90 degrees and I was thinking of doing the boring horizontally. I have a boring bar holder for my mill, but I was wondering if there were any things I would need to pay special attention to for this operation. I have never tried this before, and I want to be sure to do it safely and effectively.

Thanks, John.

Once you have the mill trammed so the bar is parallel with the table it should work fine.

I would try it on some scrap material first. In addition you might look for a 2" adjustable reamer once you've bored it close, esp. if you don't like the finish or accuracy you're getting. Esp. check for taper.

I too have something very similar to a Bridgeport and I am sure if you can get the piece part up in the air for about 6", you should be able to carry out the method you suggest.Maybe you could make a pair of holding cradles out of wood..

I am lucky in that I have a 90 degree head for my mill, plus a boring head that will take a 1" diameter, 12" long boring bar.

There are many ways to part a feline from it's coat.

John

Thanks for the great advice. I was hoping there would be no problems with doing this.

Exactly right. I will have to lift the work about 6" and I never considered wood for the build up. That's the way I'm going to go.

One other thing. I have a 3 axis magnetic DRO on my mill. The controller will calculate and index bolt hole circles in the X-Y plane.