hello

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davehall

Reaction score
experience = 0
watching bunch of instruction videos
trying to find some local pros. we do have a tech school local, but have not introduced myself yet
looking to buy first lathe soon.
i imagine eventually making small parts for robotics, but i don't know much about that either :)
MD by trade so hoping to keep most of my fingers and eyes.
located in US - WV

thanks for all the help so far. seems like a nice bunch.

Welcome to the forum Dave.

I saw your earlier post about what type of lathe...also Tin's response. It's a tough choice. I bought a Sieg. I have no experience with the Sherline or Taig although there are members who have had both or all three even. For Sieg it's like Tin says...it will do a great job but you do have to take some time to adjust it and get to know it.

I didn't know if this hobby was going to work out for me so I was hesitant to invest too much. (Although, as it turns out, I pretty much dove in. This was a little over a year ago.) My thinking was I could sell it and get something better/bigger later. Now I'm playing with the idea of moving to Sherline (because it's CNC ready) or moving up to a 9 or 10" Grizzly. Much depends on the type and size of projects you're interested in.

Look for local clubs or shows. This forum is a great way to build relationships and gain some knowledge.

Dave,

Welcome to our forum. wEc1

Best Regards
Bob

Welcome dave if you have not already done so check out the getting started thread. Lots of good links there.
Tin

wow. this has to be the fastest response in the history of forums. I don't want to be one of those guys who does not try to figure it out on my own b4 posting some non-researched post, but.......