Hello from Denmark

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Busted Bricks

Reaction score
Hi All,

My name is Michael Henriksen and I live in Denmark. I love model engines of all kinds and I'm hoping to start commercial production of small steam engines within the next year.

I make my living from laser cutting and have a1kW fiber laser for steel and metals and a 100W CO2 laser for wood and plastic. I also have a 50W fiber engraver for metal.

Best regards,

Michael

Both eventually but will start out with kits. I'm still missing a CNC lathe and milling machine so for now I have to have parts made to order which slows things down a lot.

Hi All,

My name is Michael Henriksen and I live in Denmark. I love model engines of all kinds and I'm hoping to start commercial production of small steam engines within the next year.

I make my living from laser cutting and have a1kW fiber laser for steel and metals and a 100W CO2 laser for wood and plastic. I also have a 50W fiber engraver for metal.

Best regards,

Michael
How does that 1kW laser work? How thick can it cut? can you use it in place of a band saw? Where did you buy it? Is it expensive? Am very interested as it might be able to replace a bandsaw for a similar price but do MUCH more than a band saw. I'm 1/4 Dane so we are relatives.

A 1kW fiber laser will only cut steel and metals. It can cut up to 10mm mild steel with O2 assist gas and up to 4mm stainless steel. 1.5mm brass is also possible. I paid USD34000 18 months ago but prices have dropped below USD30K now. This is direct import from manufacturer in China. The cuttting table is 2500x1250mm and the machine weighs about 3 tons. Not really a hobby machine and certainly not in the price range of a bandsaw ;)