Hello from an Aussie!

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

steamboat willie

Reaction score

Hello!
My name is Bill, known as Steamboat Willie both here and on the Mamod and Other Model Steam Forum. I like model steam and model boats, so it seemed a good handle, reflective of the combination of these two interests.
I live in Canberra, Australia.
I am an amateur hack hobby machinist, having had several years of assiduously failing the hobby Fitting and Machining Course at the local Technical College. Eventually I was told that I must have learnt something...and couldn't re-enroll. (Damn!).
I started off getting involved in doing my own machining as a result of a terminal disease that I have - its to do with a incurable love of veteran and vintage cars. In particular, I like Fiats, and have a fully restored 1922 Fiat 501 convertible, and am building my very own sports car - on a 1924 chassis with 1924 running gear. I have never had a sports car and decided that I wanted to become a member of the Toothless Hoons befoe it was too late. An interest in machining became a necessity for me as I found that no shops around here stocked parts for 90 year old cars... This was further compounded when a couple of years ago I purchased the makings of a 1910 Tipo 1 Fiat Landaulette which has an all-wooden body. This car is also under restoration, as my limited health allows. (I hobble around on a stick, and have good days and bad days, as I am sure many others can empathise with.