Hello from Minneapolis

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a self taught machinist and dabbler in all things mechanical. My job for the last 25 years has been designing and building interactive museum exhibits, particularly for kids. I am nearing completion of a '53 Sheldon lathe restoration which I will use at my workplace and will join my '51 Logan there. My interest include any well made tool, from hand tools to large machinery as well as acquiring to knowledge to use them to their best effect.

Nice to be a part of the group.

Welcome, glad to have you.

That sounds like a job I would really like.
I have tinkered around with electro-mechanical devices all my life.

We like photos, so feel free to jump right in a post your projects here.

Pat J.

Welcome. I'm just a bit east of you in Wisconsin. I just putter around trying to get my shop in usable shape after moving into town.

Welcome Chronicle...

I live a little bit east of River Falls Wi and have a 9" South Bend of 1920 vintage, along with a few other machines. Model projects have been mostly steam, Stirling, and vacuum engines. About a half-dozen years ago the trusty old lathe spent some time at A & D rebuilders in Roberts WI - and returned home 100 years younger !

Finished Lathe copy.png

Welcome Chronicle...

I live a little bit east of River Falls Wi and have a 9" South Bend of 1920 vintage, along with a few other machines. Model projects have been mostly steam, Stirling, and vacuum engines. About a half-dozen years ago the trusty old lathe spent some time at A & D rebuilders in Roberts WI - and returned home 100 years younger !

View attachment 153535