Hello from Abu Dhabi

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tuna346

Reaction score
Hello Folks,

I'm just new in the subject of manufacturing model engines. Since a few years I'm racing with small Nitro powered RC cars but in the summertime it gets far too hot hear to stand in the desert and play around. A couple of days ago I saw a few videos about this tiny but impressive V8 engines and decided to get into it. I found this site and read through it with passion. You guys are really so talented and perfect that I can only salute you and hope that one day I get at least close to your skills. Specially the V8 of Steve will probably follow me into my dreams, what a beauty. So now let me come to my first and probably most important question; Where to start? Should I read some special literature, wach more videos or just get a bar stock and start filing it? I have a few friends with big machines who can help me out working on that bar stock but what should I tell them to do?

Thanks in forward

Hi Tuna and welcome to the forum. Depending on your skill level I would start with a simple steam or ic engine while reading as much as you can on the more complex builds

Hello Herbiev,

Thanks for the quick reply. I expected something like that answer thats of course the smartest approach to the subject. What I thought about too is to take some Autocad classes to be able to draw some of the engines from the download section. The images that I create, I could send to my friend who has a metal processing company with all the necessary tools like a cnc mill, leth and waterjet cutting and so on. I know it has been discussed so many times but is there a chance to get the engine plans in metric units? Or somehow to convert it, cause some people say that if I convert the stuff it will not match anymore.