Hello from Florida

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skip Ellis

Reaction score
Glad to be here. I'm a retired land surveyor and build guitars and banjos as a paying hobby. I've got a lot of woodworking experience including turning but am a novice when it comes to metal working. I'm thinking it could come in handy for building some replacement parts, especially for banjos so going with something small. A friend called yesterday and said a friend had a small metal lathe that he was interested in selling so I checked it out and bought it this morning. It's a Unimat DB200 with, I think, about every accessory you can get for it plus a lot of tooling, all manuals and receipts, original wooden case, and other related paperwork. I believe that it was built in 1971. Everything is in great condition and seems to work like it should. It cost me $200 plus a BBQ lunch so I think I'm not into it too heavy. I just have to figure out all the parts and read the manuals and maybe do a little clean up and lube work. Looking forward to getting familiar with it and started haunting the machinists sites and You Tube to gain knowledge.

Hi !
Welcome to the forum !
Good luck with your projects .

Some years ago, I bought a Jet mill/drill from an estate. The previous owner had been building steel guitars.
I asked his son, "so, did he play steel guitars??" Son said, "Nope. Couldn't carry a tune in a bucket, but he could build guitars!!"

Welcome, Skip. The CFL part of my identifier is Central Florida - I'm near the east coast 30-ish miles south of the KSC. A little city called Eau Gallie.