Hello from a noob

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CaptSensible

Project of the Month Winner!!!
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
Hi,

I am a student of industrial design and this last semester I was assigned a project to make a miniature steam engine of some sort in a class about learning to operate a mill and lathe. Woblers have been the only working engines made previously in this class. Rather ambitiously I chose to make a 3 cylinder radial from a design I found here on this website. I had no idea never having used a mill and lathe what I was getting into... but... I finished a working model and learned more then I bargained for in the process.

I spent a ridiculous amount of time making it, I am sure most of you would take far less time but remember I have never used a mill or a lathe before or worked with metal. Removing broken HSS drill bits... ummm yay I'm learning? So many mistakes and blunders I cant count or remember them all. Nothing good comes from giving up though, so I pressed on confidant that someone somewhere had made this thing and maybe I could too. Actually that someone is HMEM member sbwhart who I want to give a huge thanks to for posting his plans and sharing his worklog here. His video of his much more beautiful 3 cylinder engine running was in the back of my mind as I learned what a rotary table was etc.

I am very proud of my achievement and just wanted to finally post here since I used this site as a valuable resource to get the project done. Thanks for the amazing portal to this hobby. I couldn't have done it and wouldn't have even tried to if I hadn't found this website when I first went looking for steam engine plans.

IMG_0044.JPG

IMG_0030.JPG