G Day From Bundaberg

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maskell

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
My name is Lance (another one) Maskell and I live in Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia. I am a diesel fitter tractor mechanic by trade and own a small field service repair business and a tractor parts sales business as well.
One of my hobbies is restoring vintage stationary engines and in the process of repairing them I like to make everything I can, best way to learn is to have a go!. My favorite engines are the IHC vertical famous water cooled hit and miss. That is what brought me here. Over the last few months and a lot of thought I have decided to make a 1/4 scale copy of the 3hp Famous from scratch. I dont know if Im up to it but with help and well directed advise I think we can get there.
Here is a pic of the engines lined up at a show, A good looking bloke much like myself with them and the start of proceedings with an ERTL model Famous, the cylinder started and the square stock I started with.
I have a lathe, Drill press, flywheel grinder , cylinder head surfacer, manifold grinder and other assorted stuff. I am in meetings with the leader of the opposition at present regarding the purchase of a milling machine. I have to make up my mind as to what to buy yet.
Anyhow thats it for now I will post progress shots as they become available.

Lance

DSC01874000.jpg

DSC01872000.jpg

Start of Cylinder.jpg

Lance : welcome to the board interesting background.
I dont know if Im up to it but with help and well directed advise I think we can get there.
come on lance cant give up the race righ out of the gate. Giver er a go mate.just think of it as a 100% restore . Just build one piece at a time. . Make a part . then another to fit the first and keep going until the paint is dry and the engines is running.
Tin

Lance,