First attempt at CAD and a engine design

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Metal Mickey

Reaction score
Well in for a pound as they say.....after building the two wobbler's I started to think about an engine on the same principles but with two cylinders so it would self start (one hopes......(posh now I am using a computer)). I also am learning how to use BobCad Cad program.

So to recap, I am a novice engineer, a novice Cad user and a novice designer. Should be an interesting ride!

Anyway copyright accepted as the design will be worth a fortune...so its free if it works and for sale if it doesn't...Have I got that right? Anyway a few images to show where I am. Advice and constructive criticism welcome.

wibbleywobblyver1-2008-12-18-18-31-.jpg

mikesplansteamengineuptocylinders.jpg

and where I am at the moment............

wibbleywobblyver1-2008-12-18-18-58-.jpg

Hi Mickey
You are a brave man, your skills on the BobCad look amazing to me, I am just starting off learning turbocad and its daunting. If i may offer what little advice i can it would be that in order to self start the crankpins need to be 270/90 degrees apart.
I am really looking forwards to following this one through with you. Good luck.

Kind regards

Malcolm

Mickey--Lookin good. Welcome to the wonderfull (and frustrating) world of 3D CAD. Malcom is correct about the offset of the crank pins for a self starter.---Brian

Mickey--A bit of information, if you didn't already know. The cylinders must be double acting in order for the engine to self start.--That is to say, they must not only receive steam on the stroke where the piston is moving away from the "dead end" of the cylinder, but must also receive steam (or air) on the return stroke.---Brian