Emco 8.6 switch needed

Help Support HMEM:

robj.brown

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Does anyone know where I can source a new Jeanreanaud switch for my Emco 8.6 lathe, I just need the one switch not the entire switch assy.
Thanks
robj.brown@yahoo.ca
Rob:
 

Wizard69

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2013
Messages
1,369
Reaction score
277
Never heard of that manufacture!

By switch are you referring to a contact block on a modular switch assembly? If so i hate to inform you but in industry we usually have to upgrade the entire switch assembly due to many of the modular switches being replaced by new designs over the years. There are several hole standards so determining the hole size is the first order of business. Then you need to determine the logic the switch implements (important for selectors). For example 22mm is a popular bore for industrial switches.

If 22mm; Telemacinique sp? and Allen Bradley have good quality switches for the larger 32 mm Allen Bradley is probably the best bet. For the sizes below 22mm there are a couple of excellent Japanese brands.

In any event your best bet is a switch upgrade to widely available parts.
 

abby

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
404
Reaction score
115
I hope you are luckier than me , the switch on my Emcomat 7 went kaput , burned out contacts . I could not source a replacement for the switch or for the complete assembly.
The alternative is to redesign the whole thing using available contactors and fit into an external box.
The switches are a let down on this high quality machine and for electrical engineers they comprise a block of four switches with functions motor on/off , a 1200/2400 rpn switch and a forward /reverse switch.
In addition there is a motor switch for the optional milling attachment.
The block fits into a recess in the headstock giving easy access.
Dan.
 

robj.brown

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Thank you for your reply, there is a guy who has a company Nilesmachines, who has a complete assy, for sale but he wants stupid price $350 euro for the switches which is more then I paid for the entire machine.
 

abby

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2009
Messages
404
Reaction score
115
I would look for a motorised treadmill , remove the motor and speed control and fit them to the lathe .
Here in the UK it is possible to get a used treadmill for £40 -£50 , gets your lathe up and running quite cheaply.
Incidentally it was the motor on/off switch that broke on my machine , not suprising as this gets most use.
I carried out temporary repair by taking the contacts out of the milling switch which was unused and fitting them into the motor switch.
A bit fiddly but do-able.
Dan.
 

robj.brown

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
I would look for a motorised treadmill , remove the motor and speed control and fit them to the lathe .
Here in the UK it is possible to get a used treadmill for £40 -£50 , gets your lathe up and running quite cheaply.
Incidentally it was the motor on/off switch that broke on my machine , not suprising as this gets most use.
I carried out temporary repair by taking the contacts out of the milling switch which was unused and fitting them into the motor switch.
A bit fiddly but do-able.
Dan.
yes I may have to change the entire switch idea
 

Kerrin Galvin

Active Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
Messages
32
Reaction score
9
Hi Rob,
Are you a member of the Emco Lathes group? If so ask there, very helpful bunch of guys. This is an ongoing issue with these lathes espeacilly the push button ones. There is a replacement, home done, for those, I can’t say I’ve seen one for your switch but somebody will point you in the right direction.

Cheers Kerrin
 

robj.brown

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Hi Rob,
Are you a member of the Emco Lathes group? If so ask there, very helpful bunch of guys. This is an ongoing issue with these lathes espeacilly the push button ones. There is a replacement, home done, for those, I can’t say I’ve seen one for your switch but somebody will point you in the right direction.

Cheers Kerrin
Thanks Kerrin, no didn't know about them, but I will check right away
 

Florus

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I have one for you, it comes from an emco 7.
I have him because the electric motor it's burnt and I have converted it to a VFD.
IMG_20180613_163834848.jpg
IMG_20180613_163825995.jpg
 

robj.brown

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
I bought the entire switch assembly from Florus, it is in the mail as I am writing this. So happy
Thank you to all who helped :)
 

Latest posts

Top