Elmer's #32 Tall Vertical Open Column

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteveG

Reaction score
Thought I'd document online my progress with regards to constructing an Elmer's #32. This is my first attempt at an engine of any kind so please check your mics and verniers at the door :-[

I have about 3 hours into this brass cylinder part and most of that time was spent marking out, double\triple checking my measurements, center punching then drilling 12 holes in the drill press. I didn't have a 1/16th endmill on hand to cut the ports with, the supply house didn't have any either, so after scratching my head a little I decided that I'd just drill 6 1/16th holes and then play connect the dots with my Dremel and a small carbide burr. The ports turned out pretty good me thinks but I will most certainly have a 1/16 endmill on hand should I decide to build another. Drilling the passages was an experience and after contemplating setting the part up in the mill in my 3 way vice I thought hmmm...do I really need to be that picky? Anyway I ended up drilling the passages with my drill press. After marking out and center punching the appropriate location on each end of the cylinder I butted the cylinder against a fence, tilted the drill press's table the prescribed 16 or so degrees and went for it. I let out a big sigh of relief when the drill broke through the ports in the correct position :) After all the drilling and dremel'ing I re-chucked the part in the 4 jaw so as to drill, bore and turn as required then after that the 3 sides were then milled similar to what is shown in the plans.

So that's where I'm at, I think tonight I'll make some more parts that go towards having a completed cylinder and valve assembly.

Cheers...

Cylinder-1-sm.JPG

Steve,