Another hello from Sydney Australia

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tony B

Reaction score
Hello All

As you may see my name is Tony, and I live just North of Sydney, on the Central Coast in NSW, and I build model trucks, from plastic kits in 1/16th scale, I am a little bored with that and have playing with the idea of building the same, but in brass, I would like at some stage to build a complete engine in brass, just for show, not for go
I also master my own parts and cast them in resin to sell to my friends around the world that I have made over the years of playing with plastic

I am totally new to metal, and the skills that it requires, and have learnt a lot about converting good metal to scrap, I do have a small lathe which I enjoy making a mess on,
and I still have all my fingers and no bruise on my head from the key as yet, I would like to purchase an mill soon, as well as a CNC machine for cutting out trailer parts, 1000x600
I am being trained in AutoDesk Inventor at the moment(At TAFE), which is a great programme, and have rapid prototyped some parts from that, my neighbour teaches inventor at TAFE (Technical and Further Education), here on the coast, so I do get a lot of help from him when I need it,

I work for a power company, playing on a excavator, I dig trenches for new power and to replace worn out cables, as well as faults to our HV networks, I often dig these cables live, and up to 11,000 volts, makes it more fun when it is live, to date only hit 2 live 240volt cables, and scrapped a live 11,000, we have no rescue for a live 11,000 cable hit
if you get caught in it, well, we also have a lot of safety involved when we do do live stuff, and on a good day it does have a mechanical barrier I have been doing this for 11 years,
before that I use to transport heavy machinery