0-4-0 Fowler

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1hand

Reaction score
I have since put the little bit of progress of the A3 on hold for now. After finishing my wrist up and getting that out in the real world, I want to get back on a long term project again. Though the A3 is a starter loco in the live steam world, I found it to be very complex, and maybe a second or third loco build after the ground work is done on a smaller less complex steamer. Over the past week or so, I've been all over the place trying to find my place in the hobby. I came across a book from Brian Wilson, that has a very detailed plans, and building instructions for a little 0-4-0 loco called "Eric". Being I'm really new to the live steam scene. I wanted a well drawn many view plans of a proven loco that are easy to follow. I've seen a few pages from the book, and seems to be well done and geared towards a newbie like my self. I also wanted a loco that's been built with some well documented build logs from others.

This is the build log from a fellow, who has done a stand up job explaining his first live steam build of "Eric". He has documented almost every step of building this loco. Even where he had problems, and how he fix them.
Go down to "Live Steam" and click. That will take you to the build pages.
http://yoshiokasyd.web.fc2.com/index.htm

So far I have ordered the book from Camden in the UK the end of last week.
http://www.camdenmin.co.uk/construction-manuals/steam-trains-in-your-garden-p-2148.html

I've ordered the 2"type L for the boiler, and 5/8"type L for the flue from http://www.mcmaster.com/#

I have fitting castings, MPT taps/Dies, boiler bushings coming from http://www.pmresearchinc.com/store/home.php

I also have some 110 copper plate 1/8" coming off of Ebay.