V8 Cylinde head

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kelvin2164

Reaction score
Hi
I'm new to model engines. My history is 5" gauge live steam locos, but my next project will be a 1/4 scale V8. So much new knowledge to gather.
Today's question. Are the heads water cooled. I can see the cooling between the cylinder liners, but not in the head. Link to pics would be nice. Also I cant see any lubrication methods for the valve gear in the heads.

To date I have only built one V-8 configuration engine. I am currently working on my second which is a flathead. Both have water cooling through the heads. When I built my 302 V-8 engine I drew a picture of the head from the end and laid out all the features, head bolt holes, pushrod holes and porting. In the remaining area I drilled through holes from end to end. These serve as the water channels. From the head deck face I drilled up into these holes. This allowed the water to flow from the block to and through the head to the intake manifold and back to the radiator. The only way to have constant lubrication to the top end of the head is to build an engine with a pressure oil system and provide an internal or external route to get the oil up there.
In the pictures of the block and head that are attached you can see the head bolt holes and the remaining holes are the water passages.
gbritnell

302 FORD CROP 4.jpg

302 FORD CROP 5.jpg

302 FORD CROP 7.jpg

IMG_7226.jpg

Reactions: gus
I think you have discouraged me. Is that a full size head or a model head. So much detail. Is it a casting? I was going to do castings for head and block, but not with that much detail !!!!